Hopelandic

Vonlenska is a term used to describe the gibberish sung by Sigur Rós, in particular Birgisson. It is also commonly known by the English translation of its name, Hopelandic. It takes its name from “Von”, a song on Sigur Rós’s debut album Von where it was first used.

Vonlenska is not a real language as it lacks a consistent grammar structure, word meaning, or even distinct words as such. Instead, it consists of meaningless syllables and resembles scat singing; the band’s website describes it as “a form of gibberish vocals that fits to the music”. Most of the syllable strings sung by Birgisson are repeated many times throughout each song, and in the case of ( ), throughout the whole album.

I want him to know
What I have done
I want him to know
It's bad

I want him to know
What I have done
I want him to know
Right now

Maybe it's time tomorrow
Or maybe today
It is not right
Now it's better
Now we'll know
Now he'll know
What I am telling

I'm sitting with you
Sitting in silence
Let's sing into the years, like one
Singing in tune, together
A psalm for no one
Let's sing in tune

But now it's home
You sing into the night now
Just sing on for me
You sing into the night

(hopelandic)
You...
You stay to be alright

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback